Friday, January 28, 2022

Indian Navy’s ‘Killers’ squadron to be awarded President’s Standard 2021


President of India, Ram Nath Kovind will present the President’s Standard Award to the to the 22nd Missile Vessel squadron of the Indian Navy on 8th of December. The fleet, also known as the ‘Killer Squadron’, had carried out Operation Trident during the 1971 war, wherein it bombed the Karachi Port and sunk Pakistan Navy’s vessels.

President Kovind will award the Squadron at a ceremonial parade, set to held at Naval Dockyard, Mumbai on 8 December. The Governor, CM of Maharashtra, Chief of the Naval Staff as well as several other civil & military dignitaries are expected to attend the event. A Special Day Cover & a commemorative stamp will also be released by the Postal Department to mark the event.

About the ‘Killer Squadron’

The squadron is being awarded in 2021 as this year marks the 50th anniversary of India’s victory in the 1971 war and is being celebrated across the country as Swarnim Vijay Varsh.

The Mumbai-based Missile Vessel Squadron has been a part of various other missions, including Operation Vijay, Operation Parakram and also during the heightened security state following the 2019 Pulwama attack, it was deployed within striking distance off the Pakistan coast.

The squadron has also received battle honours, which reflect the gallant spirit of the Killers. These laurels include:
– One Maha Vir Chakra
– Seven Vir Chakras
– Eight Nausena Medals (Gallantry)

The President’s Standard Award

It is the highest honour awarded in military in recognition of the service rendered to the nation and is presented by the President of India. The pride of the honour is equivalent to that of President’s Colours awards. However, this one is presented to smaller military formations/ units.

- Advertisement -spot_img
Latest news
Related news