Tuesday, December 7, 2021

PM to address inaugural session of 82nd All India Presiding Officers’ Conference in Shimla at 10 AM today

Prime Minister Narendra Modi will address the inaugural session of 82nd All India Presiding Officers’ Conference today at 10 AM via video conferencing.The All India Presiding Officers’ Conference (AIPOC), the apex body of the Legislatures in India, is celebrating its hundred years in 2021.

To commemorate the centennial year of AIPOC, the 82nd edition of the All India Presiding Officers’ Conference will be held in Shimla, Himachal Pradesh today and tomorrow. The first Conference was also held in Shimla in 1921.
All India Presiding Officers’ Conference President and Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla will inaugurate the conference, while Rajya Sabha Deputy Speaker Harivansh Narayan Singh is also taking part in it.

Governor of Himachal Pradesh Rajendra Vishwanath Arlekar, Chief Minister Jai Ram Thakur, Union Information and Broadcasting Minister Anurag Singh Thakur and other dignitaries will also participate in the conference.
It may be recalled that the first such conference was held in Shimla hundred years ago in 1921. A total of six such conferences have already been held in Shimla so far. Four were held pre-independence in 1921, 1926, 1933, 1939 and two post-independence in 1976 and 1997.

AIR correspondent reports that dignitaries of 36 state assemblies will attend the conference. To mark the occasion the Himachal Pradesh legislative assembly in Shimla has been decorated with colourful lights and security has been beefed up. The two-day centenary 82nd All India presiding officers conference will be attended by  378 dignitaries including 288 presiding officers of 36 state assemblies at Himachal Vidhansabha in Shimla today to deliberate on various issues like reviewing the centenary journey , strengthening  democracy and the responsibility of the Presiding Officers towards the House and the people. Besides speakers, deputy speakers, principal secretaries, secretaries and senior officials of 36 state assemblies and councils will also participate in the conference. On the other hand, yesterday, the 58th Conference of Assembly Secretaries was also held in the Himachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly, in which the Secretaries of 23 State Assemblies participated.

- Advertisement -spot_img
Latest news
Related news