Wednesday, May 18, 2022


Tokyo Paralympics: Mariyappan, Sharad win silver and bronze in high jump

Double delight for India in Men’s High Jump T42 event this evening at Tokyo Paralympics, Mariyappan Thangavelu wins silver medal while Sharad Kumar clinches bronze. With this, India’s medal tally at the Paralympics touched an unprecedented 10.

Earlier in the day, Singhraj Adana won bronze medal in the 10-metre Air Pistol SH1 shooting at the Asaka Shooting Range. Indian shooting contingent’s brilliant run continued on Day 7 as shooter Manish Narwal qualified for the medal round in the Men’s 10m Air Pistol SH1. Indian women’s table tennis team including Bhavina Patel was outclassed 0-2 by China in Class 4-5 quarterfinal.

Bhavina, who had won a historic silver in the singles event on Sunday, lost 0-3 (4-11 7-11 6-11) to Ying Zhou for the third time in the competition. The Chinese had also beaten her in the singles final.

Indian challenge in the compound men’s open archery ended after fancied Rakesh Kumar lost to former world champion Xinliang Ai of China in a tight quarterfinal battle at the Paralympic Games.

The third-seeded Rakesh, who had shot the best Indian qualifying score of 699 out of a possible 720 in the ranking round, found the going tough against the 2016 Olympics mixed open champion to lose by two points (143-145) at the Yumenoshima Park. India now have two gold, five silver and three bronze medals whereas China top the table with 60 gold followed by Britain with 29 Gold.

President Ram Nath Kovind has congratulated Mariyappan Thangavelu and Sharad Kumar for winning silver and bronze medal in men’s high jump at Tokyo Paralympics. In a tweet, Mr Kovind our Paralympians continue to make us proud. He said, India is delighted by their success. The President said, their resolve and perseverance are an inspiration for all.

Vice President M Venkaiah Naidu has congratulated to Mariyappan Thangavelu for winning Silver Medal and Sharad Kumar for winning a Bronze Medal in Men’s High Jump at Tokyo Paralympics. In a tweet, Mr Naidu said, the entire nation is proud of their achievements. He wished them a bright future ahead.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has congratulated Mariyappan Thangavelu on winning Silver medal in high jump at the Tokyo Paralympics. In a tweet, Mr Modi said, Mariyappan Thangavelu is synonymous with consistency and excellence. He said, India is proud of his feat.

The Prime Minister congratulated Sharad Kumar on winning Bronze medal at Tokyo Paralympics. In a tweet, Mr Modi said, the indomitable Sharad Kumar has brought smiles on the faces of every Indian by winning the Bronze Medal. The Prime Minister said, his life journey will motivate many.

Mr Modi also spoke to both the athletes and congratulated them for winning the Medals in the Tokyo Paralympics. He expressed joy that is it in the Olympics or Paralympics, our medal winners are coming from different parts of India and this is a wonderful sign. The Prime Minister told both athletes that these medals are the outcome of their constant hard work.

Sharad Kumar told Mr Modi that he derived great inspiration from him and that the Prime Minister takes special care to encourage the para-athletes which is a great sign. He also recalled how Prime Minister was asking about his well-being when he was training in Ukaraine.

Sports Minister Anurag Thakur has congratulated Sharad Kumar on winning Bronze medal at Tokyo Paralympics. In a tweet, Mr Thakur said, India’s Medal shower continues. He said, it’s Bronze medal for Sharad Kumar with season Best jump of 1.83 metres. Mr Thakur said, it was a great performance and Great sprit was displayed.

Tamil Nadu Chief Minister MK Stalin has announced a Rs 2 crore cash prize for Tokyo Paralympics silver medallist Mariyappan Thangavelu. Stalin in a tweet said that both India and Tamil Nadu are overwhelmed with happiness for the continuous medals by Mariyappan Thangavelu. To appreciate, Tamil Nadu government announces a reward of Rs 2 crore for Mariyappan Thangavelu.

Mariyappan Thangavelu clinched silver after leaping the mark of 1.86m. This is his second medal at the Games, having already won a gold in Rio 2016. Meanwhile, Sharad Kumar grabbed bronze after scaling his season-best mark of 1.83m. The Rio 2016 silver medalist, United States of America’s Sam Grewe clinched gold after successfully jumping the 1.88m mark in his third attempt. Another Indian and Rio 2016 bronze medalist Varun Singh Bhati finished seventh with a season-best leap of 1.77m.

- Advertisement -spot_img
Latest news
Related news