Saturday, May 21, 2022


Watch LIVE: PM Modi interacts with India’s Tokyo Paralympics contingent

Prime Minister Narendra Modi interacted with India’s Tokyo Paralympics contingent today (17 August 2021) via a virtual conference. Union Sports Minister Anurag Thakur was also present in the interaction.

The Indian Paralympic team has 54 members, including javelin player Devendra Jhajharia, who had won gold in 2004 and 2016.

India is sending their biggest-ever contingent to Tokyo Paralympics. The games will commence from 24 August to 5 September 2021.  India will participate for the first time in Badminton and Taekwondo in Tokyo Paralympics along with regular sports.

Click on the link below to watch PM Modi interacting with India’s Tokyo Paralympics contingent, LIVE –

Biggest ever contingent

Indian athletes have appeared in every edition of the Summer Paralympics since 1984. And in Tokyo, 54 athletes across nine disciplines will represent India at the Paralympic Games. The Paralympic Committee of India (PCI) conducted two-day selection trials at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium for the track and field athletes.

The 9 disciplines in which India will be competing for a medal are Archery, Athletics, Badminton, Shooting, Powerlifting, Para Canoeing, Swimming, Taekwondo, and Table Tennis.

Para athletes going to Tokyo 

  • Archery

The first male Archers to qualify for the Paralympics were Harvinder Singh and Vivek Chikara. Both Archers finished in the top 16 of the World Championship which resulted in direct qualification.

Rakesh Kumar and Shyam Sundar Swami also qualified for the Tokyo Paralympics through the World Championship. Jyoti Baliyan got the Bipartite Commission Invitation to compete in the Tokyo Paralympics. The archers will compete in the following events:

Harvinder Singh (Recurve individual open)

Vivek Chikara (Recurve individual open)

Rakesh Kumar (Compound individual open)

Shyam Sundar Swami (Compound individual open)

Jyoti Baliyan (Compound individual open)

  • Athletics

The Paralympic Committee of India (PCI) announced a 24-member athletics team after a two-day selection trial at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium. Star Javelin thrower Devendra Jhajharia and high jumper Mariyappan Thangavelu, won gold in the F46 javelin and T-42 high jump events respectively in the 2016 Rio Paralympics are in the athletics team.

The other top para-athletes include world record holders Sandeep Chowdhury and Sumeet. The PCI has also named Sandip Sanjay Sagar (javelin F-64) as a reserve athlete. Following is the Indian athletic team;

Devendra Jhajharia (Javelin F-46)

Ajeet Singh (Javelin F-46)

Sundar Singh Gurjar (Javelin F-46)

Sandeep Chaudhary (Javelin F-64)

Sumit (Javelin F-64)

Mariyappan Thangavelu (High jump T-63)

Sharad Kumar (High jump T-63)

Varun Singh Bhatti (High jump T-63)

Amit Kumar (Club throw F-51)

Dharambir (Club throw F-51)

Nishad Kumar (High jump T-47)

Ram Pal (High jump T-47)

Sonam Rana (shot put F-57)

Navdeep (Javelin F-41)

Praveen Kumar (High jump T-64)

Yogesh Kathuniya (Discus throw F-56)

Vinod Kumar (Discus throw F-56)

Ranjeet Bhati (Javelin F-57)

Arvind (Shot put F-35)

Tek Chand (Javelin F-54)

Ekta Bhyan (Club throw F-51)

Kashish Lakra (Club throw F-51)

Bhagyashri Jadhav (Shot put F–34)

Simran (100m T-13)

Reserve: Sandi Sanjay Sagar (Men’s javelin F-64)

  • Badminton

India will be making their debut in Badminton at the mega event. The following shuttlers have qualified based on qualification rankings or bipartite invitation.

Pramod Bhagat

Manoj Sarkar

Tarun Dhillon

Suhas Lalinakere Yathiraj

Krishna Nagar

Women: Paul Parmar, Palak Kohli (Women’s doubles)

  • Para Canoeing

Prachi Yadav is set to become India’s first para canoe athlete at the Tokyo Paralympics. She got quota through finished 8th in ICF Championship 2019.

  • Powerlifting

Sakina Khatun and Jaideep Deswal received the bipartite invitation to participate in the games. With this, Sakina became the first-ever female powerlifter from India to participate in the games. Jaideep will play his second Paralympics as he competed at the 2012 Games in Athletics.

  • Shooting

Indian Shooting contingent at the Paralympics will give a tough fight in the competitions and will hope to bring medals for the nation. The following shooters are flying to Tokyo:

– Men: Manish Narwal (10m air pistol), Deepender Singh (10m air pistol), Singhraj (10m air pistol), Swaroop Mahavir Unhalkar (10m air rifle standing), Deepak Saini (50m rifle positions, 10m air rifle standing)

– Women: Rubin Francis (10m air pistol), Avani Lekhara (10m air rifle, 50m air rifle)

– Mixed:

Rahul Jakhar, Akash (25m pistol)

Manish Narwal, Singhraj, Akash (50m pistol)

Deepak Saini, Sidhartha Babu, Avani Lekhara (10m air rifle)

Avani Lekhara, Deepak Saini, Siddhartha Babu (50m air rifle)

  • Swimming

Niranjan Mukundan will compete in 50m Butterfly for India. Whereas, Suyash Jadhav will participate in 50m Butterfly and 200m individual medley.

  • Table Tennis

India’s paddlers Bhavina Hasmukhbhai Patel and Sonalben Madhubhai Patel qualified for the Tokyo Paralympics via overall Rankings allocation.

  • Taekwondo

Aruna Tanwar received the bipartite commission invitation allocation quotas for women’s – 49 kg events and will be the only athlete from India to compete in this discipline.




- Advertisement -spot_img
Latest news
Related news