Wednesday, May 25, 2022


Nepali Congress Prez Sher Bahadur Deuba sworn-in as PM of the Himalayan nation

Nepal’s newly sworn-in Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba has formed a five-member cabinet. Deuba took the oath of office and secrecy yesterday evening. The ceremony was delayed about two hours over the language and format of the appointment letter. President Bidhya Devi Bhandari had appointed the Nepali Congress President to position yesterday afternoon without mentioning clauses of the constitution on the basis of which the latter has been assigned to the post.

The Office of President issued a letter yesterday afternoon stating that Deuba has been appointed as next Prime Minister following the order of the Supreme Court. The country’s Apex Court on Monday ordered his appointment as prime minister while reinstating the House of Representatives dissolved by his predecessor KP Sharma Oli.

The new Prime Minister Deuba has inducted Bal Krishna Khand as Minister for Home Affairs, Gyanendra Bahadur Karki as Minister for Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs, Pampha Bhusal as Minister for Energy, Water Resources and Irrigation and Janardan Sharma as Minister for Finance. Deuba is expected to give a full shape to the cabinet, also inducting some leaders from the Janata Samjbadi Party Nepal, in the next few days.

- Advertisement -spot_img
Latest news
Related news