Wednesday, May 18, 2022


Prime Minister Hasina gives away Independence Award 2021

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina gave away the highest civilian award of Bangladesh ‘Swadhinta Puraskar 2021’ also known as Independence Award to nine individuals and a research organisation on Thursday.

She handed over the award at her official residence Ganabandhan in Dhaka.The Independence Award is conferred on people or organisations for their outstanding contribution to the Liberation War of Bangladesh, Science and Technology, literature and Culture among others.

The award for the year 2021 included four posthumous awards given to AKM Bazlur Rahman, Shaheed Ahsanullah Master, Brigadier General Khurshid Uddin Ahmed, and Akhtaruzzaman Chowdhury Babu for their contribution to independence and the War of Liberation.
Dr. Mrinmoy Guha Neogi received the honour for his contribution to Science and Technology while Mohadeb Saha was bestowed with the award for his contribution to the field of literature. Ataur Rahman and Gazi Mazharul Anwar got the award for Culture and Prof. M Amjad Hossain for Social Work.

Bangladesh Agricultural Research Council received the award in the research and training category.The award has been given since 1977. It is announced ahead of the Independence Day of Bangladesh. The recipients of the award get a gold medal and a cash reward of Taka 5 lakh.
The announcement of names for the award was made in March.

- Advertisement -spot_img
Latest news
Related news