Thursday, January 20, 2022

Kusal Perera named Sri Lanka’s ODI captain ahead three-match series against Bangladesh

Kusal Perera has been named Sri Lanka’s ODI captain ahead of their three-match series against Bangladesh. Kusal Mendis, meanwhile, has been named as the 18-man squad’s vice-captain as regulars Dimuth Karunaratne, Angelo Mathews and Dinesh Chandimal were all dropped.

Sri Lanka have named a young squad for the series, which starts on May 23. Only three players in the team are aged more than 30 while 33-year-old Isuru Udana is the only player aged over 31.

The team leaves for Bangladesh on May 16 to take part in a three-match ODI series.

Kusal Perera (captain), Kusal Mendis (vice-captain), Danushka Gunathilaka, Dhananjaya De Silva, Pathum Nissanka, Dasun Shanaka, Ashen Bandara, Wanindu Hasaranga, Isuru Udana, Akila Dananjaya, Niroshan Dickwella, Dushmantha Chameera, Ramesh Mendis, Asitha Fernando, Lakshan Sandakan, Chamika

Karunaratne, Binura Fernando and Shiran Fernando.

Meanwhile, Sri Lanka Cricket has announced that the second edition of the Lanka Premier League will be held from July 30 to August 22 despite a surge in the COVID-19 cases in the island.

The first edition of the LPL, which is Sri Lanka’s top domestic T20 league with an international flavour, was held at Hambantota, with five teams competing.

Sri Lanka Cricket said it would assess the country’s situation and discuss with the ministry of health closer to the tournament “to ascertain the health situation in the country prior to taking a final decision on the competition”.

- Advertisement -spot_img
Latest news
Related news