Saturday, December 4, 2021

16th Legislative Assembly of Tamil Nadu begins; newly elected MLAs take oath

The 16th Assembly session in Tamil Nadu began today. Protem Speaker of the Assembly K.Pichandi administered the oath and affirmation to the members of the legislative Assembly at the Kalaivanar Auditorium. The Tamil Nadu Assembly has a total strength of 234 MLAs.

DMK member Appavu was nominated by the party for the Speaker’s post and K. Pichandi was nominated for the post of  Deputy Speaker.

As there were no other  nominations from other parties, Mr Appavu will become the Speaker and Mr K. Pichandi will become the Deputy Speaker.  Mr Appavu was elected from Radhapuram constituency and Mr Pichandi from Keezhpennathur. The DMK has formed the Government for the 6th time in the State.

- Advertisement -spot_img
Latest news
Related news