Tuesday, December 7, 2021

Himanta Biswa Sarma sworn in as new Assam CM

Senior BJP leader Himanta Biswa Sarma was sworn in as the new Chief Minister of Assam today. Governor Prof. Jagdish Mukhi administered him the oath of office. Along with Mr. Sarma 13 ministers also took oath today. 10 ministers from the BJP, while 2 ministers from Asom Gana Parishad and 1 from UPPL are included in the Himanta Biswa Sarma ministry.

State BJP President Ranjeet Kumar Dass, Asom Gana Parishad Atul Bora and Working President Keshab Mahanta, senior BJP leaders Chandra Mohan Patowary, Parimal Suklabaidya and Pijush Hazarika took oath as ministers. BJP legislators Bimal Borah, Ashok Singhal ,Ranuj Pegu are some of the new faces included in the ministry. National President of BJP J P Nadda, Union ministers Jitendra Singh, several Chief Ministers of North East and former Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal attended the oath taking ceremony.

Mr. Sarma who is representing Jalukbari assembly constituency, joined the BJP in 2015. Prior to  joining the BJP, he held several important portfolios in the Tarun Gogoi led Congress government. A writer and sports administrator, Shri Sarma is also holding the post of Convenor of the North East Democratic Alliance, NEDA.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has congratulated Assam’s new Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma and the other Ministers who took oath today. Mr Modi expressed confidence that this team will add momentum to the development journey of Assam and fulfil aspirations of the people.

He said former Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal’s contribution towards Assam’s progress and strengthening the BJP in the state is immense. The Prime Minister said, Mr Sonowal was at the helm of a pro-people and pro-development administration over the last five years.

- Advertisement -spot_img
Latest news
Related news