Tuesday, December 7, 2021

Newly elected BJP MLAs in Assam to meet today to elect their leader

In Assam, the newly elected BJP MLAs will meet in Dispur today to elect their leader. Union Minister Narendra Singh Tomar and BJP General Secretary Arun Singh will be the central observers for the meeting.

Assam Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal and Senior Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma are being seen as the two main contenders for the top post in the state. The two leaders attended a meeting of the party Central leaders including president JP Nadda and Union Home Minister Amit Shah in New Delhi yesterday.

Assam State party President Ranjeet Kumar Dass said, along with them, senior leaders BL Santosh and Vijayanta Jay Panda will also be present in the meeting. He said the meeting will start at 12 noon. In the recently held Assam assembly elections, BJP has registered a decisive victory, but the party is yet to take a decision on who will be the Chief Minister in the new government.

BJP has also appointed observers for West Bengal. Union Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad and BJP General Secretary Bhupender Yadav have been made party observers for the legislature party meeting.

Besides, Union Minister G Kishan Reddy will be the central observer for election of the leader of the BJP MLAs in the Tamil Nadu assembly

- Advertisement -spot_img
Latest news
Related news