Sunday, December 5, 2021

TMC MLA Biman Bandopadhyay elected as West Bengal Legislative Assembly Speaker

Trinamool Congress MLA Biman Bandopadhyay has been elected as the Speaker of the West Bengal Legislative Assembly today. He has been elected for the third consecutive term. In the first session of the new house today, Mr Bandopadhyay was unanimously elected by voice votes.

BJP MLAs did not attend the session as the party decided to boycott Speaker’s election as well as assembly sessions until post poll violence is stopped in the state. Meanwhile, Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee reiterated that instructions have been issued to lodge FIR wherever incidents of violence are reported and asked all the MLAs to be attentive in their respective constituencies.

The cabinet ministers will be taking oath at the Raj Bhavan on Monday. The first cabinet meeting will be held at the state secretariat  after the ceremony.

- Advertisement -spot_img
Latest news
Related news