Tuesday, January 18, 2022

Oil PSUs to set up 100 medical oxygen generation plants across the country

The Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Gas on Thursday, May 6 announced that oil and gas public sector companies will set up 100 Pressure Swing Adsorption (PSA) medical oxygen generation plants in the country.

These plants will provide medical oxygen to hospitals in Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Karnataka, Goa, Kerala, Maharashtra, Gujarat, Rajasthan, Odisha, Madhya Pradesh and Delhi. Moreover, the entire expenditure for these plants will be borne by these oil and gas PSUs from their CSR fund.

The ministry also announced that the oxygen generating capacity of these PSA plants will vary and cater to hospitals with 200 to 500 beds. They employ technology provided by DRDO and CSIR, absorbing nitrogen from ambient air to concentrate oxygen. The oxygen thus generated will be supplied straight to patients admitted in the hospital, the statement added.

The ministry added that orders have been placed with the Indian vendors for these plants. The operations will begin from this month itself, and by July, all such plants will come up, the statement read.

What is a PSA?

Pressure Swing Adsorption is a technology used to separate gases like hydrogen, nitrogen, and oxygen from ambient air. The technology uses the fact that certain gases under high pressure tend to get attracted to solid surfaces or absorbent materials like zeolites, activated carbon, and molecular sieves.

The advantage of using PSA technology is that its only raw material requirement is natural air. Moreover, it is a cost-efficient process for producing oxygen. A PSA process can continuously be used for an uninterrupted supply of oxygen.

What is CSR?

CSR or Corporate Social Responsibility refers to a concept whereby companies are required to indulge in certain activities that help in the development of the society where they operate. The government has mandated companies to spend in every financial year a minimum of 2% of their average net profits made during the 3 immediately preceding financial years.

- Advertisement -spot_img
Latest news
Related news