Monday, January 24, 2022

BJP-led NDA retains power in Assam for 2nd consecutive term

In Assam, BJP-led NDA has retained power for the second consecutive term. The NDA has secured 75 seats in the 126-member assembly. While BJP won 60 seats, its allies Asom Gana Parishad bagged 9 seats and UPPL 6 seats. Congress has won 29 seats and its ally AIUDF got 10 seats. Chief Minister and senior BJP leader won the Majuli seat by a margin of over 40 thousand votes. State BJP President Ranjit Kumar Dass, senior ministers Himanta Biswa Sarma, Chandra Mohan Patowary, Ranjit Dutta, Parimal Suklabaidya, Naba Doley and Speaker of the Assembly Hitendra Nath Goswami won the election. For Congress, legislators Rockibul Hussain, Rekibuddin Ahmed, Rupjyoti Kurmi re-elected to the assembly. Three senior leaders of Asom Gana Parishad Atul Bora, Keshab Mahanta and Phani Bhusan Choudhury won from their seats.

Assam Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal has said that the success of the party in the state is the victory of the people of Assam. Talking to AIR News, the Chief Minister said that voters have endorsed the good works of the government during the last 5 years. He thanked Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Home Minister Amit Shah and other central ministers for all the supports.

Mr. Sonowal also expressed gratitude to party functionaries including national President JP Nadda for all the help. He said that the party will work to make Assam self-reliant in the next 5 years and fulfill the promises the party made in its Sankalp Patra. Meanwhile, state Congress President Ripun Bora resigned from the post of party President following the Congress’ dismal performance in the state.

- Advertisement -spot_img
Latest news
Related news