Friday, December 3, 2021

Ruling parties expected to retain power in Assam, Kerala & West Bengal; opposition parties expected to form govt in Tamil Nadu & Puducherry

In the assembly elections held in four states and one Union territory, in West Bengal, ruling Trinamool Congress is leading in 202 seats, and in Assam BJP is leading in 62 seats.  In Tamil Nadu, DMK is ahead with 117 seats and in Kerala is LDF is ahead in over 80 seats.  In the Union territory of Puducherry NDA led by NR Congress is ahead in eight seats in the 12 seats for which the trends are available.

The ruling parties are coming back to power in Assam, West Bengal and Kerala while in Tamil Nadu and Puducherry, the opposition parties are expected to form the government.

In West Bengal, ruling Trinamool Congress is way ahead of its opposition by leading in 202 seats,  BJP is leading in 77 seats.

In Tamil Nadu, trends are available in 231 of the 234 seats. The DMK led UPA is ahead in 137 seats, AIADMK led NDA is leading in 93  seats.

In Assam, trends are available for 119 of the 126 seats. The ruling BJP led NDA is ahead in 70 seats, while Congress led opposition is leading in 40 seats while independents and others are leading in nine seats.
In Kerala, as counting to the 140-seat Kerala assembly crosses three and a half hours trends the results are in favour of the ruling front communist led coalition LDF. LDF leads in almost 90 plus constituencies , followed by the congress led UDF in 45 plus seats and NDA in 3 seats.
Counting of votes for assembly elections in Assam, West Bengal, Kerala, Tamil Nadu and Puducherry began this morning at 8 AM. The counting began with postal ballots before the first round of counting began for the EVMs.

Assembly elections in four states and union territory were held from March 27 to April 29.

In view of second wave of pandemic and to ensure complete COVID safe arrangements during counting, the Election Commission has rolled out strict COVID protocols for the counting day.

As per the safety measures, no candidates or poll agents is being allowed inside the counting hall without undergoing RT-PCR or Rapid Antigen Test. However, those who have been administered both the doses of COVID vaccination have been allowed. The Commission has also prohibited public gathering outside the counting venues during the process of counting.

The Election Commission has already banned all victory processions on or after the day of counting. Not more than two people will be allowed to accompany the winning candidates to receive the certificate of election from the concerned Returning Officer.

- Advertisement -spot_img
Latest news
Related news