Thursday, December 2, 2021

Counting of votes underway for assembly elections in Assam, West Bengal, Kerala, Tamil Nadu & Puducherry

In the assembly elections held in four states and one Union territory, as per the current trends, the ruling parties are comfortably placed in Assam and Kerala.  In West Bengal ruling Trinamool Congress is  ahead while in Tamil Nadu and Puducherry, the ruling parties are trailing behind the opponents.

As per latest trends available with Election Commission, in West Bengal, BJP is leading in 70 seats and Trinamool Congress is ahead in 137 seats.

After third round of Counting in heavy weight Nandigram Assembly Constituency, incumbent Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee is trailing by 8206 votes. Counting for another 14 rounds is to go. 

In Tamil Nadu, AIADMK leading in 75 seats, DMK is leading in 86 seats, Congress is leading in 8 seats, PMK is leading nine seats, BJP is leading in three seats, CPI and CMP are leading in two seats each.

In Assam, ruling BJP is leading in 41 seats, Congress is leading in 15, Assam Gana Parishad is leading in nine seats, AIUDF and UPP are leading six seats each. Bodoland Peoples Front are ahead in two seats.

In Kerala, CPM of LDF front is leading in  48 seats, CPI is leading in 15 seats, Congress of UDF is leading in 19 seats, IUML is leading in 14 seats, BJP is leading in two seats.

In the Union Territory of Puducherry, NR Congress is leading in six seats, BJP is leading two seats, Congress and DMK  are leading in one seat each.

Counting of votes for assembly elections in Assam, West Bengal, Kerala, Tamil Nadu and Puducherry began this morning at 8 AM. The counting began with postal ballots before the first round of counting began for the EVMs.

Assembly elections in four states and union territory were held from March 27 to April 29.

In view of second wave of pandemic and  to ensure a complete COVID safe arrangements during counting, the Election Commission has rolled out strict COVID protocols for the counting day.

As per the safety measures, no candidates or poll agents is being allowed inside the counting hall without undergoing RT-PCR or Rapid Antigen Test. However, those who have been administered both the doses of COVID vaccination have been allowed. The Commission has also prohibited public gathering outside the counting venues during the process of counting.

The Election Commission has already banned all victory processions on or after the day of counting. Not more than two people will be allowed to accompany the winning candidates to receive the certificate of election from the concerned Returning Officer.

- Advertisement -spot_img
Latest news
Related news