Thursday, December 2, 2021

Jharkhand: Polling underway for Madhupur by-election

In Jharkhand, 53.67 percent voting has been done in the Madhupur by-election that began from early 7 in the morning at 487 polling booths in the Assembly constituency. Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) candidate and Minority Welfare Minister Hafeezul Hasan casted his vote earlier in the day. Ganga Narayan Singh from Bhartiya Janta Party (BJP) and four other candidates are contesting for the Madhupur seat.

The Madhupur Assembly seat got vacant after the death of former Jharkhand Minority Welfare Minister Haji Hussain Ansari last year due to COVID-19. Three lakh 22 thousand 90 voters will cast their vote till 6 in the evening at polling booths. Deoghar district administration has been taking all measures for peaceful conduct of the by-polls. No such incident has been reported by far.

- Advertisement -spot_img
Latest news
Related news