A- A A+
Last Updated : Jan 18 2021 3:31PM     Screen Reader Access
News Highlights
PM Modi lays foundation stone of environment friendly Ahmedabad Metro Rail Project Phase-II and Surat Metro Rail Project            National COVID-19 recovery rate improves to 96.59 per cent            Over 2 lakh people vaccinated for Covid-19 across country during past two days            Britain invites PM Modi to attend G7 Summit to be held in June this year            Brisbane Test: Australia bundled out for 294 on day 4           

State News

Dec 01, 2020

Maharashtra: Polling for the 5 constituencies of the State Legislative Council concluded; Results on 03rd December

AIR Pics
In Maharashtra, polling for the five constituencies of the State Legislative Council concluded on tuesday evening. Voting was held for the graduate constituencies in Pune, Nagpur and Aurangabad divisions and for the Teachers constituencies in Pune and Amravati divisions. Voting began this morning at 8 and ended at 5 pm. All health related guidelines were strictly enforced as it was the first election in the midst of a pandemic. For the first time, an independent medical officer was appointed at each polling station. The election results will be declared on December 3.

Our correspondent reports that Several bigwigs including Union Minister Nitin Gadkari, Nagpur District Guardian Minister Dr. Nitin Raut and Leader of  Opposition in the state legislative assembly,  Devendra Fadnavis, exercised their right to franchise. A senior official from the election Commission told AIR that till 5 pm a tentative 61.08 percent polling was recorded in Aurangabad graduates division. 50.30 percentage polling was recorded in Pune Graduates division. In Nagpur Graduates division- 54.76 percentage polling was recorded. Whereas for the Amravati teachers and Pune teachers division 82.91 percentage polling and 70.44 percentage polling was recorded, respectively. Voting in all the constituencies were held in a peaceful manner.  In Aurangabad, four patients who are undergoing Covid -19 treatment exercised their franchise by wearing a PPE kit. At both Amravati and Nagpur districts there is a direct contest between the ruling Maha Vikas Aghadi and the opposition BJP. In Pune, The Maha Vikas Aghadi has nominated Arun Lad for Graduates’ constituency and Jayant Asgaonkar for Teachers’ constituency against BJP's Sangram Deshmukh and Jitendra Pawar, respectively.

Live Twitter Feed

Listen News

Morning News 18 (Jan) Midday News 18 (Jan) Evening News 17 (Jan) Hourly 18 (Jan) (1300hrs)
समाचार प्रभात 18 (Jan) दोपहर समाचार 18 (Jan) समाचार संध्या 17 (Jan) प्रति घंटा समाचार 18 (Jan) (1310hrs)
Khabarnama (Mor) 18 (Jan) Khabrein(Day) 18 (Jan) Khabrein(Eve) 17 (Jan)
Aaj Savere 18 (Jan) Parikrama 17 (Jan)

Listen Programs

Market Mantra 17 (Jan) Samayki 1 (Jan) Sports Scan 17 (Jan) Spotlight/News Analysis 17 (Jan) Employment News 17 (Jan) रोजगार समाचार 17 (Jan) World News 17 (Jan) Samachar Darshan 22 (Mar) Radio Newsreel 21 (Mar)
    Public Speak

    Country wide 12 (Mar) Surkhiyon Mein 17 (Jan) Charcha Ka Vishai Ha 11 (Mar) Vaad-Samvaad 17 (Mar) Money Talk 17 (Mar) Current Affairs 6 (Mar) Sanskrit Saptahiki 16 (Jan) North East Diary 17 (Jan)