A- A A+
Last Updated : Nov 23 2020 10:13PM     Screen Reader Access
News Highlights
PM inaugurates multi-storey flats for MPs; says construction of many buildings started during NDA govt completed before schedule            Economic reforms to continue to make India a hotspot of global investment, says FM            Cabinet Secy chairs NCMC meeting to review status of impending cyclone in Bay of Bengal            Covid-19 recovery rate improves to 93.68 pct; More than 85 lakh people recovered so far            Former CM of Assam Tarun Gogoi passes away           

National News

Mar 11, 2020

Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla revokes suspension of seven Congress MPs

Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla today revoked the suspension of seven Congress Members who were earlier suspended for the remainder of the session for their unruly behavior.

The Congress members who had been suspended included Gaurav Gogoi, T.N. Prathapan, Dean Kuriakose, Manickam Tagore, Gurjeet Singh Aujla, Rajmohan Unnithan and Benny Behanan.

Earlier when the house assembled after two adjournments, initiating the discussion on the subject, Leader of the Congress Party Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury requested the speaker to revoke the suspension of the members. While stressing the need to uphold the traditions of the house, he pleaded that they should be allowed to perform their democratic responsibilities.

Various party members requested the speaker to consider revoking of the suspension and also stressed the need to uphold the decorum of the  house.

After the discussion, Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs, Arjun Ram Meghwal moved a resolution to revoke the suspension of Congress members.

The House adopted the resolution and the speaker adjourned the house till 2.45 PM.

Earlier an all party meeting was held in the chamber of Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla over the issue of smooth functioning of the House. Parliamentary affairs minister and BJP leader Pralhad Joshi,  Senior leader of Congress party Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, JDU leader Rajiv Ranjan Singh, Apna Dal leader Anupriya Patel, AIMIM leader Asaduddin Owaisi and other leaders were present in the meeting.

Live Twitter Feed

Listen News

Morning News 23 (Nov) Midday News 23 (Nov) Evening News 23 (Nov) Hourly 23 (Nov) (1910hrs)
समाचार प्रभात 23 (Nov) दोपहर समाचार 23 (Nov) समाचार संध्या 23 (Nov) प्रति घंटा समाचार 23 (Nov) (1900hrs)
Khabarnama (Mor) 23 (Nov) Khabrein(Day) 23 (Nov) Khabrein(Eve) 23 (Nov)
Aaj Savere 23 (Nov) Parikrama 23 (Nov)

Listen Programs

Market Mantra 23 (Nov) Samayki 9 (Aug) Sports Scan 23 (Nov) Spotlight/News Analysis 23 (Nov) Employment News 23 (Nov) World News 22 (Nov) Samachar Darshan 22 (Mar) Radio Newsreel 21 (Mar)
    Public Speak

    Country wide 12 (Mar) Surkhiyon Mein 23 (Nov) Charcha Ka Vishai Ha 11 (Mar) Vaad-Samvaad 17 (Mar) Money Talk 17 (Mar) Current Affairs 6 (Mar) Sanskrit Saptahiki 21 (Nov) North East Diary 19 (Nov)