A- A A+
Last Updated : Nov 23 2020 10:04PM     Screen Reader Access
News Highlights
PM inaugurates multi-storey flats for MPs; says construction of many buildings started during NDA govt completed before schedule            Economic reforms to continue to make India a hotspot of global investment, says FM            Cabinet Secy chairs NCMC meeting to review status of impending cyclone in Bay of Bengal            Covid-19 recovery rate improves to 93.68 pct; More than 85 lakh people recovered so far            Former CM of Assam Tarun Gogoi passes away           

National News

Mar 09, 2020

AIADMK nominates M.Thambidurai as candidate for Rajya Sabha election

The AIADMK has nominated former Lok Sabha Deputy Speaker Dr M.Thambidurai as its candidate for the Rajya Sabha election. The party has allotted one seat to its coalition partner Tamil Maanila Congress whose leader GK Vasan is contesting the election. The AIADMK Deputy Coordinator KP Munusamy is the other candidate as announced by the party.

Dr Thambidurai contested unsuccessfully in Karur Lok Sabha constituency in the last elections and has now been given the chance to represent the party in the Upper House.

Earlier, the three DMK nominees filed their papers with the Returning Officer and the Tamil Nadu Assembly Secretary this morning. They include the sitting member Trichy Siva, ex-minister Andhiyur Selvaraj and senior advocate in the Madras High Court NR Elango. They were accompanied by the party chief MK Stalin, Treasurer Durai Murugan, Parliamentary party panel chief TR Baalu, Ms Kanimozhi Karunanidhi and the Congress Legislature panel chief KR Ramasamy.

The DMK and the ruling AIADMK front are poised to win three seats each. If there is a contest, which is mostly unlikely, polling will be held on the 26th of this month.

Six seats from the state in the House of Elders expire on the second of next month, including four belonging to the AIADMK and one each from the DMK and the CPI (M).

   Related News

Live Twitter Feed

Listen News

Morning News 23 (Nov) Midday News 23 (Nov) Evening News 23 (Nov) Hourly 23 (Nov) (1910hrs)
समाचार प्रभात 23 (Nov) दोपहर समाचार 23 (Nov) समाचार संध्या 23 (Nov) प्रति घंटा समाचार 23 (Nov) (1900hrs)
Khabarnama (Mor) 23 (Nov) Khabrein(Day) 23 (Nov) Khabrein(Eve) 23 (Nov)
Aaj Savere 23 (Nov) Parikrama 23 (Nov)

Listen Programs

Market Mantra 23 (Nov) Samayki 9 (Aug) Sports Scan 23 (Nov) Spotlight/News Analysis 23 (Nov) Employment News 23 (Nov) World News 22 (Nov) Samachar Darshan 22 (Mar) Radio Newsreel 21 (Mar)
    Public Speak

    Country wide 12 (Mar) Surkhiyon Mein 23 (Nov) Charcha Ka Vishai Ha 11 (Mar) Vaad-Samvaad 17 (Mar) Money Talk 17 (Mar) Current Affairs 6 (Mar) Sanskrit Saptahiki 21 (Nov) North East Diary 19 (Nov)