A- A A+
Last Updated : Oct 21 2020 6:58PM     Screen Reader Access
News Highlights
Police Commemoration Day being observed today; Govt working to make border impregnable by linking technology with human force, says Amit Shah            Campaigning for first phase of Bihar Assembly Elections gains momentum; scrutiny of nomination papers for third phase underway            India returns missing Chinese soldier who strayed across LAC            COVID-19 recovery rate in country reaches 88.81 pct            IPL: Kolkata Knight Riders to take on Royal Challengers Bangalore at Abu Dhabi           

National News

Jan 03, 2019

24 AIADMK MPs suspended for 5 Lok Sabha sittings

Twenty four AIADMK members have been suspended from the five consecutive sittings of the Lok Sabha for their unruly behaviour on Wednesday. 

When the House met after the third adjournment in the post lunch session, Speaker Sumitra Mahajan announced the names of those members shouting slogans in the well and indulged in unruly behaviour. 

The names include T G Venkatesh Babu, Dr K Kamraj, A Anwar Raja,T Radhakrishnan and M Uday Kumar.

Since morning the AIADMK members were in the well shouting slogans against the construction of a dam on Cauvery river.   

She said, these members were continuously coming to well and obstructing the proceedings of the House. 

Later, the House was adjourned for the day.

In Rajya Sabha, AIADMK and DMK members stalled proceedings on Wednesday over Cauvery issue. The House was adjourned for the day after repeated adjournments. 

When the House re-assembled at 3 p.m. after the fourth adjournment, the slogan raising members from Tamil Nadu again trooped into the well of the House despite appeals by Deputy Chairman Harivansh to allow the House to function.

Earlier, Chairman Venkaiah Naidu named some of the agitating members, asking them to leave the House for disrupting the proceedings. 
Our correspondent reports that as the agitating members refused to leave the well, Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs Vijay Goel accused them of not allowing Water Resources Minister Nitin Gadkari to make a statement on Cauvery issue. As the logjam continued, Deputy Chairman adjourned the House for the day. 

Earlier, Home Minister Rajnath Singh moved a Statutory Resolution for approval of the Presidential proclamation issued on 19th of December 2018 for Central Rule in Jammu and Kashmir after the dissolution of the State Assembly.

Live Twitter Feed

Listen News

Morning News 21 (Oct) Midday News 21 (Oct) Evening News 20 (Oct) Hourly 21 (Oct) (1800hrs)
समाचार प्रभात 21 (Oct) दोपहर समाचार 21 (Oct) समाचार संध्या 20 (Oct) प्रति घंटा समाचार 21 (Oct) (1810hrs)
Khabarnama (Mor) 21 (Oct) Khabrein(Day) 21 (Oct) Khabrein(Eve) 20 (Oct)
Aaj Savere 21 (Oct) Parikrama 21 (Oct)

Listen Programs

Market Mantra 20 (Oct) Samayki 9 (Aug) Sports Scan 20 (Oct) Spotlight/News Analysis 20 (Oct) Employment News 21 (Oct) World News 20 (Oct) Samachar Darshan 22 (Mar) Radio Newsreel 21 (Mar)
    Public Speak

    Country wide 12 (Mar) Surkhiyon Mein 20 (Oct) Charcha Ka Vishai Ha 11 (Mar) Vaad-Samvaad 17 (Mar) Money Talk 17 (Mar) Current Affairs 6 (Mar) Sanskrit Saptahiki 17 (Oct) North East Diary 15 (Oct)