A- A A+
Last Updated : Feb 19 2020 3:59PM     Screen Reader Access
News Highlights
US President Trump says he is looking forward to his India visit            India to send military aircraft to China to evacuate its nationals from Wuhan            First meeting of Shree Ramjanmbhoomi Teerth Kshetra trust today            Fifth year of launch of Soil Health Card being observed across the country            UK announces new points-based visa system           

State News

Dec 07, 2019

Over 63% polling recorded in 2nd phase of Jharkhand Assembly Polls

An estimated 63.44 per cent polling was recorded in the second phase of Assembly elections in Jharkhand today.

Chief Electoral Officer, Vinay Kumar Choubey said that polling was held in twenty constituencies spread over seven districts- Saraikela-Kharsawan, Gumla, Ranchi, Khunti, Simdega, East and West Singhbhum. He said, maximum 74 percent polling was recorded in Bahragora constituency in East Singhbhum district.

The CEO said that the percentage is likely to increase after receiving the final poll figures. Mr Choubey said, in comparision to 2014 assembly elections, this time there is 5 percent decline in voting percentage in these 20 seats.

The CEO said One person was killed and two others were injured in Sisai Constituency in Gumla district during clash between police and local people over alleged bogus voting. The incident occurred when security forces had to fire in self-defence. During the clash four people including a local SHO were also injured in stone pelting by miscreants. 

In Chaibasa, suspected Naxals set on fire a bus deployed for ferrying electorates to re-located polling booths in Jojohatu area. Superintendent of Police (SP) West Singhbhum said, no casualty has been reported in the incident.

In another incident, a group of Naxals ambushed on polling party in dense forest in Marangburu village under Adaki Police station area of Khunti district. Officials said, befitting reply was given by security personnel and naxals fled away. They said, all members of polling party and EVMs are safe.

In 14 Naxal affected constituencies more than sixty percent polling was registered. In this phase 16 assembly seats are reserved for tribal candidates. Electoral fortune of 260 candidates including 29 women nominees were sealed in EVMs in this phase.

Chief Minister Raghubar Das, his cabinet colleagues Neelkanth Singh Munda, Ramchandra Shahis, Jharkhand assembly speaker Dinesh Oraon, BJP state president Laxman Gilua, JD(U) state chief Salkhan Murmu, former state minister Saryu Raoy, Bandhu Tirkey and senior AJSU leader Pradip Kumar Balmuchu are prominent candidates of this phase.

In the first phase of elections on the 30th of last month, 63 per cent polling was recorded. The polling process for 81-member Jharkhand Assembly will be completed in five phases. Counting of votes will be held on the 23rd of this month.


Live Twitter Feed

Listen News

Morning News 19 (Feb) Midday News 19 (Feb) News at Nine 18 (Feb) Hourly 19 (Feb) (1500hrs)
समाचार प्रभात 19 (Feb) दोपहर समाचार 19 (Feb) समाचार संध्या 18 (Feb) प्रति घंटा समाचार 19 (Feb) (1305hrs)
Khabarnama (Mor) 19 (Feb) Khabrein(Day) 19 (Feb) Khabrein(Eve) 18 (Feb)
Aaj Savere 19 (Feb) Parikrama 18 (Feb)

Listen Programs

Market Mantra 18 (Feb) Samayki 18 (Feb) Sports Scan 18 (Feb) Spotlight/News Analysis 18 (Feb) Samachar Darshan 16 (Feb) Radio Newsreel 18 (Feb)
    Public Speak

    Country wide 13 (Feb) Surkhiyon Mein 13 (Feb) Charcha Ka Vishai Ha 12 (Feb) Vaad-Samvaad 18 (Feb) Money Talk 18 (Feb) Current Affairs 14 (Feb)
  • Money Matters 18 (Feb)
  • International News 19 (Feb)
  • Press Review 19 (Feb)
  • From the States 19 (Feb)
  • Let's Connect 19 (Feb)
  • 360°- Ek Parivesh 19 (Feb)
  • Know Your Constitution 30 (Jan)
  • Ek Bharat Shreshta Bharat 19 (Feb)
  • Sanskriti Darshan 18 (Feb)
  • Fit India New India 19 (Feb)