A- A A+
Last Updated : Oct 24 2019 7:57AM     Screen Reader Access
News Highlights
Counting of votes for Maharashtra, Haryana Assembly polls to begin this morning            Block Development Council elections scheduled in J&K today            Union Cabinet grants ownership rights to residents of Unauthorized Colonies in Delhi            India set to sign agreement on Kartarpur corridor with Pakistan            Praveen Kumar becomes first Indian man to win gold at Wushu World Championships           

National News

Aug 19, 2019

Manmohan Singh, Neeraj Shekhar elected unopposed to Rajya Sabha

Former Prime Minister Dr. Manmohan Singh was declared today elected unopposed to the Rajya Sabha from Rajasthan.

The Returning Officer and Assembly Secretary Pramil Kumar Mathur made the announcement to this effect after the end of the deadline for withdrawal of nominations for the same. The Chief Whip, Dr. Mahesh Joshi, received the election certificate on behalf of Dr. Singh.

The former PM was nominated by the Congress for the lone seat while the BJP did not field any candidate for the by-poll, necessitated due to the death of Rajya Sabha MP Madan Lal Saini. The former PM had filed the nomination papers on 13th August. Chief Minister of Rajasthan Ashok Gehlot congratulated Singh on his election to the Upper House of Parliament. 

In Uttar Pradesh, BJP candidate Neeraj Shekhar, was today declared elected unopposed to the Rajya Sabha. No other nomination had been filed for the seat. He is the son of former Prime Minister Chandra Shekhar. He had filed his nomination on 14th of August as the BJP candidate for the Rajya Sabha by-poll. 

The by-poll was necessitated due to Shekhar's resignation from the Rajya Sabha. After resigning from Samajwadi Party, he joined the ruling BJP recently. The term of the seat is up to 25th November 2020.

Live Twitter Feed

Listen News

Morning News 23 (Oct) Midday News 23 (Oct) News at Nine 23 (Oct) Hourly 24 (Oct) (0605hrs)
समाचार प्रभात 23 (Oct) दोपहर समाचार 23 (Oct) समाचार संध्या 23 (Oct) प्रति घंटा समाचार 24 (Oct) (0600hrs)
Khabarnama (Mor) 23 (Oct) Khabrein(Day) 23 (Oct) Khabrein(Eve) 23 (Oct)
Aaj Savere 23 (Oct) Parikrama 23 (Oct)

Listen Programs

Market Mantra 23 (Oct) Samayki 23 (Oct) Sports Scan 23 (Oct) Spotlight/News Analysis 23 (Oct) Samachar Darshan 23 (Oct) Radio Newsreel 22 (Oct)
    Public Speak

    Country wide 17 (Oct) Surkhiyon Mein 17 (Oct) Charcha Ka Vishai Ha 23 (Oct) Vaad-Samvaad 22 (Oct) Money Talk 22 (Oct) Current Affairs 18 (Oct)