A- A A+
Last Updated : Sep 23 2019 7:25PM     Screen Reader Access
News Highlights
PM Modi, President Trump call for decisive fight against terrorism            PM Modi to address UNSG's Climate Action Summit today            Indian Forces ready to face any hostile situation: Army chief            Voting for bye-poll underway in Chhattisgarh, UP, Kerala and Tripura            Ayushman Bharat scheme completes one year of its launch           

National News

Jun 20, 2019

VP Naidu seeks support of political parties for smooth functioning of Rajya Sabha

Vice President and Chairman of Rajya Sabha M. Venkaiah Naidu has sought the support of all political parties for the smooth functioning of the House. 

At a luncheon meet, hosted at his residence in New Delhi today, Mr Naidu called upon the floor leaders in Rajya Sabha to accord top priority for fulfilling people’s aspirations. 

Stressing the need for all members to always uphold the dignity and decorum of the House and adopt the best parliamentary practices and traditions, he said, Rajya Sabha must act as a role model to all legislatures in the country. 

Referring to the recent elections and the mandate given by the people, the Vice President said, the time has come for all parties to keep aside their political differences and strive for building a New India. 

Mr Naidu said that the Government, opposition and representatives of all parties must have a healthy dialogue on important issues including the passage of bills. 

Deputy Chairman of Rajya Sabha Harivansh, Leader of the Upper House Thawarchand Gehlot, Leader of the Opposition Gulam Nabi Azad, Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, Parliamentary Affairs Minister Prahlad Joshi, A Navaneethakrishnan of AIADMK, Derek O'Brien of Trinamool Congress, Prasanna Acharya of BJD, R.C.P. Singh of JD-U, Y.S. Chowdary of TDP, Dr. K. Keshava Rao of TRS, T.K. Rangarajan of CPI (M), Prem Chand Gupta of RJD, Tiruchi Shiva of DMK, Sanjay Raut of Shiv Sena, Ram Kumar Kashyap of INLD, Sardar Sukhdev Singh Dhindsa of SAD, Sanjay Singh of AAP, V. Vijayasai Reddy of YSRCP and D. Raja of CPI were present at the meeting.

Live Twitter Feed

Listen News

Morning News 23 (Sep) Midday News 23 (Sep) News at Nine 22 (Sep) Hourly 23 (Sep) (1800hrs)
समाचार प्रभात 23 (Sep) दोपहर समाचार 23 (Sep) समाचार संध्या 22 (Sep) प्रति घंटा समाचार 23 (Sep) (1900hrs)
Khabarnama (Mor) 23 (Sep) Khabrein(Day) 23 (Sep) Khabrein(Eve) 22 (Sep)
Aaj Savere 23 (Sep) Parikrama 23 (Sep)

Listen Programs

Market Mantra 22 (Sep) Samayki 22 (Sep) Sports Scan 22 (Sep) Spotlight/News Analysis 22 (Sep) Samachar Darshan 22 (Sep) Radio Newsreel 21 (Sep)
    Public Speak

    Country wide 19 (Sep) Surkhiyon Mein 19 (Sep) Charcha Ka Vishai Ha 18 (Sep) Vaad-Samvaad 3 (Sep) Money Talk 3 (Sep) Current Affairs 20 (Sep)