A- A A+
Last Updated : Sep 22 2019 5:21PM     Screen Reader Access
News Highlights
Howdy, Modi: PM Modi interacts with Kashmiri Pandits, Sikh and Dawoodi Bohra communities            Induction of Rafale aircraft in Indian Air Force will be a game-changer, says Air Force Chief            CBI court summons former UP CM Kalyan Singh in Babri Masjid demolition case            Aadhaar will be linked with driving licence, says Ravishankar Prasad            Ministry of Sports to create 20 National Centres of Excellence to groom athletes           

National News

May 18, 2019

All arrangements in place for final phase of Lok Sabha Polls

Representational pic
All arrangements are in place for seventh and the last phase of Lok Sabha elections tomorrow.

59 constituencies, spread over 7 states and one union territory, will go to polls in this phase. Voting will take place for 13 seats each in Uttar Pradesh and Punjab, nine in West Bengal, eight seats each in Bihar and Madhya Pradesh, all four constituencies of Himachal Pradesh; three in Jharkhand and lone seat of Chandigarh. Polling, which will begin at 7 AM, will end at 6 PM. 

Prominent candidates in this phase include Prime Minister Narendra Modi, and union ministers - Manoj Sinha, Ravi Shankar Prasad, Harsimrat Kaur Badal and Hardeep Singh Puri, Kirron Kher, Sunny Deol and Ravi Kishan of BJP, Sukhbir Badal of SAD, Meira Kumar and Shatrughan Sinha of Congress and Shibu Soren of JMM.  

Counting of votes will take place on the 23rd of this month.

In Himachal Pradesh all the four Lok Sabha seats, Shimla, Mandi,, Kangra and Hamirpur to go to poll in this phase.

Punjab and Chandigarh are also ready for the poling. In Uttar Pradesh, 13 seats in last phase will go to poll. In Bihar the voting will take place in Nalanda, Patna Sahib, Patliputra, Ara, Buxar, Sasaram, Karakat and Jahanabad. There are 157 candidates including 20 women in the fray. 

In Madhya Pradesh, polling will be held for 8 Lok Sabha seats in the last phase.  Our correspondent reports that around one crore 49 lakh voters will decide the fate of 82 candidates including 6 women. 

Our Kolkata Correspondent reports that Polling personnel have already reached their destinations to ensure free and fair voting. Over 1 crore 49 lakhs electorates will decide the political fate of 111 candidates.

The News Services Division of All India Radio (AIR) has made elaborate arrangements for providing authentic and latest results of Lok Sabha and Assembly elections in four states. For the first time, AIR, the biggest radio network of the country, will continuously broadcast special programmes on election results for 40 hours. 

Live Twitter Feed

Listen News

Morning News 22 (Sep) Midday News 22 (Sep) News at Nine 21 (Sep) Hourly 22 (Sep) (1705hrs)
समाचार प्रभात 22 (Sep) दोपहर समाचार 22 (Sep) समाचार संध्या 21 (Sep) प्रति घंटा समाचार 22 (Sep) (1700hrs)
Khabarnama (Mor) 22 (Sep) Khabrein(Day) 22 (Sep) Khabrein(Eve) 21 (Sep)
Aaj Savere 22 (Sep) Parikrama 21 (Sep)

Listen Programs

Market Mantra 21 (Sep) Samayki 21 (Sep) Sports Scan 21 (Sep) Spotlight/News Analysis 21 (Sep) Samachar Darshan 20 (Sep) Radio Newsreel 21 (Sep)
    Public Speak

    Country wide 19 (Sep) Surkhiyon Mein 19 (Sep) Charcha Ka Vishai Ha 18 (Sep) Vaad-Samvaad 3 (Sep) Money Talk 3 (Sep) Current Affairs 20 (Sep)