Last Updated : May 26 2019 11:06PM     Screen Reader Access
News Highlights
Narendra Modi to be sworn-in as Prime Minister for 2nd term on May 30            PM Modi says coming five years is the time to regain lost position of India in world order            SKM leader Prem Singh Golay to take oath as Chief Minister in Gangtok tomorrow            Odisha Guv invites Naveen Patnaik to form next govt in state            Apurvi Chandela bags gold medal in 10m Air Rifle in ISSF World Cup           

National News

Mar 31, 2019

Last date of withdrawal of candidatures for 3rd phase of general election is April 8

File Pic: PTI
Filing of nominations for the third phase of general election is continuing for 115 constituencies in 14 States and Union Territories going to polls on 23rd of April. The last date of withdrawal of candidatures is 8th April.

In Kerala, 29 candidates filed their nominations yesterday, taking the total number to 52 so far. Polling for all 20 Lok Sabha seats in the State will take place in this phase. Four candidates each from Alappuzha and Kozhikode constituencies, and three candidates from Thiruvananthapuram filed their nominations yesterday. 

AIR correspondent reports that Two candidates each from Pathanamthitta, Alathur, Wayanad, Vadakara,Kannur, Kasaragod constituencies and  one each from Attingal, Kottayam, Ernakulam, Chalakudy and Thrissur also filed nominations Yesterday.Sitting MPs and LDF candidates A Sampath, Innocent and PK Sreemathi filed nomination from Attingal, Chalakkudy and Kannur   constituencies respectively. 

Sitting MP and UDF candidate MK Raghavan filed nomination from Kozhikode consituency yesterday. Sitting MLAs and LDF candidates AM Arif who is contesting from Alappuzha and A Pradeep Kumar from Kozhikode too filed their nominations. BJP leader K Surendran who is contesting from Pathanamthitta  consituency and senior CPI leader C Divakaran who is contesting from Thiruvananthapuram also filed nominations on Saturday.

In Assam, star campaigners of major parties are reaching the state to woo voters. Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah have already held rallies in the state. Congress President Rahul Gandhi and his sister Priyanka Gandhi Vadra will visit Assam next week beginning tomorrow. West Bengal Chief Minister and TMC Chief Mamata Banerjee will also address a poll rally soon. 

AIR correspondent reports, senior BJP leader and Assam Chief Minister Sarbanand Sonowal, NEDA Chairman Himanta Biswa Sarma and state BJP President Ranjeet Dass, state Congress President Ripun Bora, former Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi are engaged in trying to woo voters.

AIUDF President Badruddin Ajmal, AGP President Atul Bora and Executive President Keshab Mahanta and Bodoland People’s Front President Hagrama Mahilary are also holding election rallies.

Assam has a total of 14 Lok Sabha seats. In the first phase of Lok Sabha polls, voting in the state will be held on five seats on 11th April. In the second phase, five seats will go to polls on 18th April. In the third phase, polling will take place on four seats on 23rd April. 

In Karnataka, various organisations are chipping in to create voter awareness and urge people to participate in the democratic process. Milk processing cooperatives in the state are printing a message on lakhs of milk packets for voters to exercise their franchise. Public sector organisation KSRTC, which is in the business of transport, is printing the message on its tickets issued to passengers.

It issues 29 lakh tickets every day. Even digital display boards  at bus stands are flashing the message. In Hubballi, the horticulture department has created EVMs and VVPATS out of flowers. It is part of a flower show starting today.

PM’s Exclusive Interview to DD News

Live Twitter Feed

Listen News

Morning News 26 (May) Midday News 26 (May) News at Nine 26 (May) Hourly 26 (May) (2300hrs)
समाचार प्रभात 26 (May) दोपहर समाचार 26 (May) समाचार संध्या 26 (May) प्रति घंटा समाचार 26 (May) (2305hrs)
Khabarnama (Mor) 26 (May) Khabrein(Day) 26 (May) Khabrein(Eve) 26 (May)
Aaj Savere 26 (May) Parikrama 26 (May) Lok Ruchi Samachar 26 (May)

Listen Programs

Market Mantra 26 (May) Samayki 26 (May) Sports Scan 26 (May) Spotlight/News Analysis 26 (May)
    Public Speak

    Country wide 28 (Mar) Surkhiyon Mein 4 (Apr) Charcha Ka Vishai Ha 15 (May) Vaad-Samvaad 7 (May) Money Talk 7 (May) Current Affairs 22 (Mar)