Last Updated : Jun 16 2019 8:00PM     Screen Reader Access
News Highlights
All-party meeting held in New Delhi ahead of Parliament session            Election Commission announces by-polls to six Rajya Sabha seats            Maharashtra Cabinet expanded with induction of 13 new ministers            Death toll mounts to 83 due to Encephalitis in Bihar            ICC World Cup: India set victory target of 337 runs for Pakistan at Manchester           

National News

Mar 24, 2019

Electioneering gains momentum for Lok Sabha polls

Representational pic
Election activity in the country gears up as political parities continue to announce candidates for the remaining Lok Sabha seats.

In Uttar Pradesh, Samajwadi Party Chief Akhilesh Yadav has decided to contest from Azamgarh constituency. Senior Party leader and MLA from Rampur Assembly constituency Mohammad Azam Khan is the party nominee for the Rampur Parliamentary constituency. The party made the announcement today. Mulayam Singh Yadav will contest from Mainpuri seat. 

In Bihar, the RJD today announced the candidates for Bhagalpur and Banka seats. Talking to reporters in Patna, state RJD President Ram Chandra Purve said Jayprakash  Narayan Yadav will contest from Banka and Shailesh Kumar alias Bulo Mandal from Bhagalpur seat. 

The Congress announced that the party will contest on Kishanganj, Katihar and Purnea seats. 

Senior Congress leader Nikhil Kumar alleged that the seat sharing of grand alliance has been finalised at the whims of RJD Chief Lalu Prasad. 

BJP has declared Law Minister Ravi Sharnkar Pasad as its candidate from Patna Sahib seat replacing Shatrughsan Sinha. Union Minister Radha Mohan Singh will contest from East Champarn. 

The CPI(ML) says it will contest four seats from Ara, Siwan, Karakat and Jahnabad.

The CPI has said it would field former JNU student Union President Kanhaiya Kumar from Begusarai seat. 

Former Prime Minister and senior JD(S) leader H. D. Deve Gowda will contest from Tumkur Parliamentary seat in Karnataka.

Last date for filing nomination for the first phase will come to an end tomorrow. 91 constituencies spread over 20 states and union territories will go to  polls in the first phase on the 11th of next month. 

   Related News

Live Twitter Feed

Listen News

Morning News 16 (Jun) Midday News 16 (Jun) News at Nine 15 (Jun) Hourly 16 (Jun) (1800hrs)
समाचार प्रभात 16 (Jun) दोपहर समाचार 16 (Jun) समाचार संध्या 15 (Jun) प्रति घंटा समाचार 16 (Jun) (1900hrs)
Khabarnama (Mor) 16 (Jun) Khabrein(Day) 16 (Jun) Khabrein(Eve) 15 (Jun)
Aaj Savere 16 (Jun) Parikrama 15 (Jun) Lok Ruchi Samachar 16 (Jun)

Listen Programs

Market Mantra 16 (Jun) Samayki 15 (Jun) Sports Scan 15 (Jun) Spotlight/News Analysis 14 (Jun) Samachar Darshan 14 (Jun) Radio Newsreel 15 (Jun)
    Public Speak

    Country wide 13 (Jun) Surkhiyon Mein 13 (Jun) Charcha Ka Vishai Ha 5 (Jun) Vaad-Samvaad 11 (Jun) Money Talk 11 (Jun) Current Affairs 14 (Jun)