Last Updated : May 25 2019 11:07PM     Screen Reader Access
News Highlights
President invites NDA parliamentary party leader Narendra Modi to form Govt            CWC rejects Rahul Gandhi's resignation offer            Andhra Pradesh: Jagan Mohan Reddy stakes claim to form govt            Normal life affected in Odisha due to intense heatwave conditions            India wins bronze medal in Archery World Cup Stage III           

State News

Mar 12, 2019

Telangana: Polling underway to elect 5 members for Legislative Council from MLAs quota

Representational pic
In Telangana, the polling is underway to elect 5 members for the Legislative Council from MLAs quota. Opposition Congress and TDP boycotted the polling alleging that Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao and the ruling TRS are committing unconstitutional acts and encouraging defections.

Speaker P Srinivas Reddy exercised his franchise when the voting began this morning. TRS Working President K Taraka Ramarao cast his vote while TRS members and ministers exercising their franchise. The polling will continue till 4 PM and counting of votes will be followed immediately after that.

The TRS fielded four candidates against 5 vacancies while Home minister Mahamood Ali seeking re-election for the Council. The other three candidates from the ruling TRS included S Subhash Reddy, Satyavathi Rathod and Mallesham. However the TRS extended support to the MIM candidate Mirza Riyaj Ul Hassan. The TRS and MIM extended full support to each other’s candidates in the 119 member Assembly. The Congress fielded G Narayana Reddy. Our Correspondent says, each candidate requires the support of 21 members to get elected for the council, based on the numbers. 

   Related News

PM’s Exclusive Interview to DD News

Live Twitter Feed

Listen News

Morning News 25 (May) Midday News 25 (May) News at Nine 25 (May) Hourly 25 (May) (2300hrs)
समाचार प्रभात 25 (May) दोपहर समाचार 25 (May) समाचार संध्या 25 (May) प्रति घंटा समाचार 25 (May) (2305hrs)
Khabarnama (Mor) 25 (May) Khabrein(Day) 25 (May) Khabrein(Eve) 25 (May)
Aaj Savere 25 (May) Parikrama 25 (May) Lok Ruchi Samachar 19 (May)

Listen Programs

Market Mantra 25 (May) Samayki 25 (May) Sports Scan 25 (May) Spotlight/News Analysis 25 (May)
    Public Speak

    Country wide 28 (Mar) Surkhiyon Mein 4 (Apr) Charcha Ka Vishai Ha 15 (May) Vaad-Samvaad 7 (May) Money Talk 7 (May) Current Affairs 22 (Mar)