A- A A+
Last Updated : Dec 10 2019 7:19AM     Screen Reader Access
News Highlights
BJP govt gains majority as party wins 12 of 15 seats in K'taka by-polls            Parliament passes Recycling of Ships Bill; Lok Sabha clears Arms (Amendment) Bill            Discussion on Citizenship Amendment Bill underway in Lok Sabha            UP govt to set up 218 fast-track courts for crimes against women and children            WADA bans Russia from international sporting events for four years           

National News

Nov 15, 2018

Veteran journalist N Ram to receive Raja Ram Mohan Roy Award on Nov 16

NSD Logo
Finance Minister Arun Jaitley will inaugurate National Press Day celebrations in New Delhi on Friday.

Briefing media on Thursday evening, Press Council of India chairman CK Prasad said the winners of National Awards for Excellence in Journalism will be honoured on the occasion. 

Eminent journalist and Chairman of the Hindu Publishing Group, N Ram has been selected under prestigious award category of Raja Ram Mohan Roy award. 

Ruby Sarkar, Chief Correspondent of Deshbandhu, Bhopal and Rajesh Joshte of Daily Pudhari in Ratnagiri will share the award in category of Rural Journalism. 

Mr Prasad said the selection of the awardees was carried out by a jury comprising eminent working journalists, and senior editors, among others. 

Delegates from neighbouring Press Councils of SAARC countries - Nepal, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and Maldives will be present on the occasion. 

The inaugural function will also include the release of a souvenir.

National Press Day is symbolic of a free and responsible press in India. 

It was on this day that the Press Council of India started functioning as a moral watchdog. 

PCI has been mandated by Parliament to improve the standards of journalism and maintain its freedom. 

Live Twitter Feed

Listen News

Morning News 9 (Dec) Midday News 9 (Dec) News at Nine 9 (Dec) Hourly 10 (Dec) (0605hrs)
समाचार प्रभात 9 (Dec) दोपहर समाचार 9 (Dec) समाचार संध्या 9 (Dec) प्रति घंटा समाचार 10 (Dec) (0600hrs)
Khabarnama (Mor) 9 (Dec) Khabrein(Day) 9 (Dec) Khabrein(Eve) 9 (Dec)
Aaj Savere 9 (Dec) Parikrama 9 (Dec)

Listen Programs

Market Mantra 9 (Dec) Samayki 9 (Dec) Sports Scan 9 (Dec) Spotlight/News Analysis 9 (Dec) Samachar Darshan 8 (Dec) Radio Newsreel 9 (Dec)
    Public Speak

    Country wide 28 (Nov) Surkhiyon Mein 28 (Nov) Charcha Ka Vishai Ha 4 (Dec) Vaad-Samvaad 26 (Nov) Money Talk 26 (Nov) Current Affairs 6 (Dec)